A heated argument, an act of road rage, a fistfight in a bar – each of these relatively common occurrences can lead to an arrest, charge, and conviction for assault in Michigan. Assault covers a wide range of words and actions, and you can be convicted even if the other person was not hurt or you never made physical contact with them. If, however, your acts do result in bodily harm, you use a weapon, or your assault involves a person specially protected by Michigan law (such as a police officer), the consequences you face are even more severe.
Assault is an act of violence and prosecutors will aggressively seek the conviction of anyone who harms or threatens to harm another person. If you have been charged with any form of assault, it is important to take the matter seriously. You face hefty fines, time behind bars, and a criminal record that can hobble your future for years to come.
At Collis & Griffor, our experienced Michigan assault defense attorneys provide aggressive representation for those accused of assault in Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor and throughout Wayne and Washtenaw counties. You have rights that need protection and defenses that can be raised, and our attorneys have the skills, insights, and commitment to put you in the best position for a positive outcome. While we always strive for an acquittal or dismissal of charges, we also successfully negotiate arrangements that can help clients avoid jail time and minimize disruption to their lives after arrests put their futures in jeopardy.
What Is Michigan Assault?
Assault and battery encompass any intentional, forceful, and unwanted touching of another person. This includes a punch, of course, but it can be even less than that. A slap, a poke of a finger to the chest, or spitting in someone’s face can all lead to assault charges. So too can the mere threat to hurt someone if the threat is one that would put a reasonable person in fear of an immediate battery.
Any of the foregoing could result in charges of “simple assault,” which is a Michigan misdemeanor punishable by up to 93 days in jail.
But “simple assault” is not the charge you will face if your actions cause serious or aggravated injuries to another person. Those are charged as “aggravated assault,” even if you didn’t intend to cause the injuries that resulted. A conviction on this charge can send you to jail for up to a year.
Penalties are even worse if you are convicted of assault with a deadly weapon such as a gun or knife (or potentially even a beer bottle, car, or frying pan). A felonious assault charge can send you to a Michigan state prison for four-years with fines of up to $2,000. If a judge or jury finds that your assault was committed with the intent to murder or cause great bodily harm, ten years in prison is a distinct possibility.
Collis & Griffor, P.C: Tenacious Southern Michigan Assault Defense Attorneys
Whether your assault charges arose from a momentary lapse in judgment or lost temper, an act of self-defense, or an error by law enforcement, we can help. At Collis & Griffor, PC, we can provide you with guidance and clarity during a frightening and uncertain time. Our dedicated criminal defense attorneys have over 30 years of experience defending the accused throughout southern Michigan. We will thoroughly look at the facts and circumstances of the incident and your arrest, advise you of your options, and then implement the strategy best suited to achieving an optimal result.
Please contact Collis & Griffor, PC, today at (734) 827-1337, or contact us online to set up an appointment for a free initial consultation to discuss your assault case.